A Living Story: Writing from Your Life

You can tell a lot about how a person lives by how they choose to write. [Tweet this]

If the writing is more reflective, you might imagine a slower, more contemplative lifestyle. When writing feels fast-paced, you connect with the adventure you sure the writer is living. On the other hand, writing that falls flat conjures up a rather boring image of life.

My writing is a mix of all of those.

As I’ve been reading through my previous posts, I’ve seen some consistent themes throughout. This has been helpful to reflect on what moves my heart enough to write about. However, the way in which I write is widely varied.

Sometimes it feels like a relaxed conversation. Sometimes it comes across more preachy. Yet there are also times that I can tell just from reading that I have truly experienced something. The words don’t come across in a casual or didactic way really. The writing holds a sense of depth and warmth.

It’s as if there’s more to the story.

When I think about the times when I wrote those pieces, I remember vividly what was going on in my life at the time. Laying on a wood floor next to my girls’ beds telling stories. The smell of fresh-cut grass while holding my little girl. Praying for guidance to handle discipline correctly. Celebrating one of the most beautiful days I’ve experienced.

Yet even as I read those, I know there’s more to tell. I want to know what happened next. I’m curious as to whether those experiences still happen or not. I sense a passion that feels much deeper than a few hundred words can say.

It’s because I was writing from my life.

Now, two thoughts have crossed my mind as I think this through.

If my writing is going to be worth reading, I need to share my life not just my thoughts. There should be images of something living and breathing not cold, dull, lifeless words. It would be worthwhile to slow down and find just the right words to help readers see and feel a bit of what I’ve experienced.

Also, I’m moved to experience a life worth writing about. Notice, I didn’t say “live a life worth writing about.” I don’t think it has as much to do with grand adventures and exotic places. I think it has more to do with experiencing the adventure that has been given to me.

I can do my daily routine and miss out on experiencing the people around me. I can come home at the end of the day and choose not to play games with my children (which is a choice NOT to experience my children).

or

I can go beyond my routine of picking up a box of food from our CSA and share life with the people who make it possible. I can have the experience of coming alongside my youngest daughter who is struggling to continue her first race and finish it with her (see above).

I can also choose to do the limbo.

I don’t have to be especially good at what I’m doing. But I do need to determine in my heart, mind and soul to experience what I’m doing. I want to be fully aware, fully present, and fully alive.

When I truly engage the life God has given me, I find a living story worth writing and reading about.

I need to make this decision every day. I need to wake up and say, “God, I’m going to be fully aware of Your presence, fully present with those around me, and be fully alive in this adventure You’ve given me.”

It may involve delaying a project to be with someone. I may be required to cancel plans just to have a day to refocus.

And right now, it will most certainly involve doing the limbo.

Comments
2 Responses to “A Living Story: Writing from Your Life”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] of Jesus Christ. I’ve committed my life to a deepening understand of this message through life experience, conversations, and reflections on Scriptures and other […]

  2. […] A Living Story: Writing from Your Life […]



Leave a comment

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives