A Compelling Reason to Write

Writing is not easy for me, but it’s necessary.

When I hear something interesting, it takes my mind to a new place for a while. But, I have a terrible memory. If I don’t write a note or phrase, it will likely be gone forever.

I’ve also heard that reteaching something solidifies the concept in your mind. As a teacher and trainer, I’ve found this to be true and very helpful. At times, though, I want to argue with myself about what I’m teaching. This doesn’t turn out too well if I actually act on that desire in front of a crowd!

Writing has become a way for me to understand. Sometimes my writing is terrible; others it’s OK. No matter how it turns out, writing helps me plumb the depths of an idea, affirm a desire to act on something, or realize a concept is just not worth pursuing.

Yet, writing is also for others.

People who have reached the same fork in the road and want to learn for our successes and failures. Those who haven’t quite made it to the same place, but they may one day turn to the guidance and encouragement of the written word. Writing is also for those who have yet to take their first breath.

Psalm 102:18 (ESV) says, “Let this be recorded for a generation to come, so that a people yet to be created may praise the LORD.”

God is the greatest teacher and trainer of all, but He’s also chosen to be the Magnificent Writer. He has recorded truth for generations to know and experience His loving heart. We are 2,000 years removed from Jesus physically walking, healing and preaching on the earth; however, we experience Him in a powerful way through the written Word.

If people experience my heart through my writings, it makes me wonder what picture comes to mind. It gives me reason to pause and go back time and again to consider what I’ve written. It’s difficult to evaluate the interesting thoughts I received listening or consider what others have hard in my teaching. But I do have the opportunity to go back over my writings and ask myself some tough but essential questions.

  • What am I most passionate about?
  • How do I interact with my God, my wife, my children, and others?
  • Have I been writing anything of significance for those on the journey?
  • Is anything I’ve written worth sharing with generations yet to be created?

In the coming days, I’m taking time to reread all of my previous posts in order to understand even more. My prayer is that I will become a better writer as a result – not just for me but for all who will read.

In this thoughtful evaluation, I must be prepared to see myself objectively. I will see weaknesses that need attention. I may see unexpected strengths. I hope it will help me focus my passionate energies on those things which matter most. I may even see God’s hand in a way that I never had before.

But I would not have this opportunity if I had not written a single word.

So I write.

Comments
9 Responses to “A Compelling Reason to Write”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I continue to read my previous posts, I have learned to not only reflect on my journey but engage it. It’s become an opportunity to […]

  2. […] I’ve been reading through my previous posts, I’ve seen some consistent themes throughout. This has been helpful to reflect on what moves […]

  3. […] continue to read through previous posts, I’ve seen these connections over and over. In these observations, […]

  4. […] reading my previous posts, I have learned something very […]

  5. […] In reading previous posts, I’ve observed times when I’ve navigated the tension well. It’s also been helpful to see when I’ve failed. In some posts, I’ve been comforted but not challenged. In others, I’ve been challenged but left without hope. […]

  6. […] I’ve been reading previous posts, I’ve seen little scraps of ideas that are actually pretty good. The writing sometimes falls […]

  7. […] I near the end of reading through my previous posts, I’ve had the opportunity to review my perspective on life as it was at that moment — […]

  8. […] any case, I’ve been looking back over what I have created in previous posts. I would not consider myself a great artist. There are some “pieces” that have totally […]



Leave a comment

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives