In the Cafe – Writing as a Conversation

There’s something relaxing about sitting in a good coffee shop.

Perhaps it’s the robust aroma that awakens the senses. It could be the welcoming environment that invites life to take a slower pace. And I wouldn’t dare rule out the depth and flavor of a good roast warming my belly!

While a little café could be a place to be by yourself, it rarely turns out that way. You may exchange thoughts of the day with a fellow enthusiast. Many will be involved in a good book.

In one way or another, something about the coffee shop sparks our deep desire for relationship.

As I continue to read my previous posts, I have learned to not only reflect on my journey but engage it. It’s become an opportunity to talk with myself. Before you call for help, let me explain. No, it’s too much. Let me sum up.

I’m finding that the best writing feels more like a conversation with the author than a lecture from a professional.

I have been guilty of being too disconnected from my readers. I’m not a big fan of the posts where I come across that way. I have even thought of deleting a few, but I don’t want to surrender an opportunity to be reminded. Instead, they can be a catalyst for better writing in the days ahead.

One of my favorite authors is Mark Buchanan who has said, “Any book reading is worth reading slowly.” If I find myself reading an article, post or book quickly, I begin to wonder. Either I’m just not focused right now or this piece of writing is just not worthwhile.

A book worth reading is Scripture, and Scripture is worth reading slowly.

We spend a great deal of time using Scripture as a platform, but I don’t often hear about someone reading it conversationally. If the Bible is a written record of God’s heart for the world, then it makes sense that we would want to read it as a letter or email we have received from someone we care about deeply. Allow me to illustrate.

My children love to receive mail. Their hearts are filled with joy when they see their name on the letter. They jump up and down while they read. At times, they even respond verbally as if the sender could hear their sweet response. In other words, every aspect of their being is involved in the reading of the letter.

Is it possible that all of our being can be fully engaged in reading our personally addressed Letter from our Father?

I believe it is.

Our heart, soul, mind and strength can be engaged in this conversation with God. But we have to slow down and view it as such. Perhaps we should take it with us to a local café and allow all the senses to be awakened and prepare our whole being to be fully present in our reading.

As we see the Written Word as a conversation, we will also find ourselves developing a relationship with the Author. From these relationships, we are moved to care deeply. We are challenged to see things from the Author’s perspective and are compelled to act.

So, I will continue to sip my coffee with the desire that my reading and writing today become a conversation in which I am fully engaged and fully present.

Comments
3 Responses to “In the Cafe – Writing as a Conversation”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] it feels like a relaxed conversation. Sometimes it comes across more preachy. Yet there are also times that I can tell just from reading […]

  2. […] I’ve committed my life to a deepening understand of this message through life experience, conversations, and reflections on Scriptures and other […]

  3. […] In the Care: Writing as a Conversation […]



Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

