Wide Awake: Writing in Awareness

I miss amazing things every day.

Constantly I’m surrounded by interesting people and unprecedented opportunities, but they escape my gaze. I always have places to go and things to do. Sometimes I find myself spending so much time living life that I stop experiencing life.

As I’ve be re-reading previous posts, I’ve come face-to-face with some incredible experiences in my life. It’s as if writing about it was a way to complete my experience – to really let it settle into my mind, heart, and soul. It’s also caused me to wonder how much I’ve missed.

It’s easy to live life unaware.

I may not always feel like I have the time to stop and smell the roses, but I need to make the time. Slowing down to experience the life I live is necessary. It keeps me from taking life too seriously and too lightly.

Processing these experiences can make for some great writing, but there’s something even more important. Living life wide awake deepens my appreciation for what I’ve been given. (You may want to tweet this.)

I can’t help but praise.

I can’t help but care.

A couple illustrations come to mind:

  • God’s creation is beautiful. If I stop to enjoy a butterfly or listen to the wind rustling the leaves, I am experiencing the wonder of God’s grand design. It also sparks a desire within to care for His creation and share it with others.
  • People are valuable. They are so valuable to God that He died for them. That being said, I should value them enough to give them my undivided attention. Not only am I drawn to understand God’s heart at a deeper level, but I’m moved with compassion for the person in front of me.

So I want to be more intentional about slowing down. It will be an act of worship as I truly receive the gifts God has given me. I also want to write in full awareness of the life I’ve been given – to write in praise to God for what I’ve received and because I care about the things He cares about.

My awesome God has blessed me with the mystery and beauty of life; it would be a shame to miss it.

This post is part of a series of reflections as I’ve been reading through previous posts. If you missed any in this series, you can check them out below. I would love to hear your thoughts!

A Compelling Reason to Write

Mirror, Mirror: Writing as Reflection

In the Care: Writing as a Conversation

A Living Story: Writing from Your Life

Connected: Writing in Community

Comments
2 Responses to “Wide Awake: Writing in Awareness”
  1. Wade Harris says:

    Such a great reminder! Thank you! I am amazed how easy it is to zip around and end the day without enjoying a moment as a gift from God!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Wide Awake: Writing in Awareness […]



Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

