Mirror, Mirror: Writing as Reflection

Putting words on a page is like building a mirror.

You don’t think about it at the time. If you’re creating content that is sincere and personal, then it just happens. The pages become a looking glass into your heart, soul and mind.

That is, if you choose to look.

In a previous post, I shared my desire to go back over my previous posts. At first, I began looking at them critically — I like this writing; I don’t like that; I’m too preachy; too passive.

But my focus shifted a few posts into my reading.

I started to see myself. It wasn’t always clear, but it was always there. 

I saw myself wrestling through how to connect with God. My heart for my family is there. Both of these seemed to dance around a common thread — to be fully present and aware.

It reminded me of a quotation by Jim Elliot that I jotted down early in my blogging days. “Wherever you are, be all there.” My writing revealed my desire to be “all there” with God every moment. Slowing down to be with God and be fully aware of His presence. It reminded me to be “all there” with my family. Taking care to not be so busy that I’m unaware of their needs.

My previous writing has served as a mirror for who I was and has helped remind me of who I am.

It’s also affirmed my passion for God’s Word. I don’t want to be a professional reader when it comes to Scripture. I’m not content in being a reposed listener. I want to be changed by the Written Word.

“For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like.” (James 1:23-24, ESV)

God calls me to be present with Him in His Word. My Father commands me to be a loving servant to my wife and children. I am compelled to faithfully live out the Word because of His loving faithfulness to me. Scriptures show my weaknesses, but they also reveal the strength I have in Christ.

Reading the Word will reveal faults and affirm growth. Similarly, reading previous personal writings show both where I’ve struggled and where I have remained firm. The Spirit works to convict, transform, and encourage as I read – which brings me to another realization.

It takes courage to look in the mirror.

Seeing myself at previous stages in life isn’t always easy, but it’s healthy. Allowing God through his Word to penetrate my heart and soul is not always pleasant, but it provides pruning and shaping essential for growing fruit.

As I continue to read, I’m praying for humility and honesty. I’m asking for grace to see myself for who I am and hope in seeing God for Who He is. I’m seeking to be fully present where I am and fully aware of those around me.

I’m also grateful for the gift of words, especially the Word.

May we have courage to take the time to read.

Comments
4 Responses to “Mirror, Mirror: Writing as Reflection”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I continue to read my previous posts, I have learned to not only reflect on my journey but engage it. It’s become an opportunity to talk with myself. Before you call for help, let me […]

  2. […] reading through my previous posts, I’ve seen some consistent themes throughout. This has been helpful to reflect on what moves my heart enough to write about. However, the way in which I write is widely […]

  3. […] my life to a deepening understand of this message through life experience, conversations, and reflections on Scriptures and other […]

  4. […] of writing can also reveal an over-arching focus for me as a writer. Reading a series of posts mirrors back those things about which I firmly believe and ignites passion. So I not only learn to focus my […]



Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

