A Lead from “Worship With Us” by Adam McClane

This awakening post is Part 2 of a reflection of what many may be experiencing in a gathered worship experience. For those with similar experiences or thoughts for a way forward, please join the discussion on Adam’s website.

A couple weeks ago I confessed that worship times at church often leave me feeling lonely. My proposition was that this was, in part, to the lyrics of the songs themselves. (Along with a few other factors.)

I wrote:

I wonder what it’d be like to stand with my brothers and sisters in Jesus and lift our voices in worship proclaiming that I, me, mine are cheap compared to the power of we, us, ours?

Putting We Into Worship

I’d like to illustrate my pronoun point by rewriting a few popular songs so that they focus is not on me and my faith and instead about us and our faith. (Once you notice the pronoun thing, you’ll also notice that songwriters often switch voice between chorus and verse.)

{Read the rest of Adam’s article by clicking here.}

Leave a comment

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives