What’s on the horizon?

As the year comes to a close and new one rises, I’ve taken some time to pray and think through direction for writing – including this blog. Part of that has been thinking through what I have found to be particularly helpful as I read from other authors. On the other hand, I’ve also considered just how many blog notifications I’ve left unread.

With these things in mind, I’m experimenting with a new approach that may be of interest to you, and I highly value your feedback as I hone in on the specifics.

  • Writing one time per week. Now, I’ve found many bloggers write to put something up almost every day in the hopes that at least one of those posts would be read and generate some interest. I’ve also seen that degenerate into advertisements for various things and less quality content. I attempted something like this for a while, but it began to feel much more like talking than communicating. So, I’m looking to create one solid piece of communication that we can all consider and discuss. (Bonus: You may not need to delete as much from your email.)
  • Sharing more of my personal story. There have been several articles that seem to have generated a lot of interest through “liking” or “sharing.” Those have been connected very closely to my life – growing into my own faith awakening. The posts that stick with me could be described as incarnational content. They aren’t just simply words, ideas or ponderings. They are truths fleshed out in real life. So, I hope that more of what it to come will reveal more about the path on which God has taken me that may resonate with steps He’s leading you to take. Writing in this way involves greater risk, but I’m leaving the results up to God.
  • Integrating the focus topics. I’ve gone to great pain to provide something for many different people, and I fear I may have lost many along the way. I’ve written on family ministry, youth ministry, responsible living, Scripture reflections, spiritual seasons, marriage, parenting, writing, and helpful resources. As I’ve read through previous posts, I can see a common thread flowing through that is not always readily apparent – my story in finding and living out my identity in Christ. So, I expect to begin moving away from the labels and sub-headings and write one cohesive story. Again, this will involve sacrifice. There may be some readers who only want practical ministry help and others who wish to learn more about parenting from a biblical perspective. So, not everyone will want to continue reading. There are plenty of great writers out there who may choose to address those topics specifically. But here, those topics will be addressed as an organic movement from finding our identity in Christ to living it out in everyday life.  

So, there it is in a nutshell. And now, here is your opportunity to join the conversation.

  • What are some of the most helpful posts, phrases or ideas from this blog that have given you perspective on waking up to your identity in Christ?
  • What are some areas that you’d be interested in reading and discussing in the year to come?

You can share your thoughts in the comment section of this blog or on the new Facebook page. You also have a better idea of whether or not you’re interested in following more intentionally by “liking” the Facebook page or joining the email list.

May this blog not be another unread notification but a companion on the adventure of finding and living out the reality of who we are in Christ.w

Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

