The Trinity and My Family

It’s not often that you hear someone talk about the Trinity in the same sentence as family; it’s time we start.

As a husband and father, I’m constantly going over Scripture to understand what God desires to do in and through me. I’m called to love my wife and bring up my children in the training and instruction of the Lord (Eph. 5:25; 6:4). I desire obey the Word of my God.

But what does that look like?

But perhaps the focus on the particulars in these Scriptures blinds us to the context of these Scriptures. After all, the passages in Ephesians 5 begin with the following:

“Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God” (Eph. 5:1-2, NIV).

In other words, my marriage and family should imitate the unity and harmony of the Triune God.

It starts with me remembering that I am a child. In my childlike faith, I should seek to mimick everything I see my Father doing. My Father leads, guides and protects me. The Son models truth, love and holiness for me. The Spirit comes alongside to encourage and direct my focus to the Son and the Father. They are unity and harmony.

So I seek to lead, guide and protect my wife. I desire to model truth, love and holiness as I interact with her. I want to come alongside and encourage her and point to the Christ we both serve. And I know firsthand that Cara is an incredible reflection of our Triune God to me.

As God empowers us and we respond well, a beautiful thing happens. Our children see unity in Christ and harmony in our marriage.

We seek to lead, guide and protect them. We intentionally model truth, love and holiness in our daily interactions. We come alongside our daughters to encourage them and direct their gaze to the God Who first loved us.

They understand what our Triune God looks like, and we effectively leave a legacy of faith for them to follow Christ.

Our understanding of the Trinity is profoundly important to our understanding of marriage and family. And while we may focus on the Father, Son and Spirit respectively, we can never separate them from their context as Trinity. Likewise, we might focus on what it means to be a husband, wife, parent or child, but we should never separate that study from the context of our calling.

To be imitators of our Triune God.

Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

