To My Wife

Your heart and life move me to praise our God.

As I think of you, I can’t help but be reminded of a great poem. From these lines, I also want to share my heart.

10 A wife of noble character who can find?
She is worth far more than rubies.

You are precious and highly valued.

11 Her husband has full confidence in her
and lacks nothing of value.
12 She brings him good, not harm,
all the days of her life.

I have have full confidence in you! You have cared for me and brought so much goodness into my life. You’ve been a reflection of God’s goodness to me.

13 She selects wool and flax
and works with eager hands.
14 She is like the merchant ships,
bringing her food from afar.
15 She gets up while it is still night;
she provides food for her family
and portions for her female servants.

From clothes to meals, I am moved by how you have researched, sacrificed and spent countless hours providing for our family.

16 She considers a field and buys it;
out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She sets about her work vigorously;
her arms are strong for her tasks.
18 She sees that her trading is profitable,
and her lamp does not go out at night.
19 In her hand she holds the distaff
and grasps the spindle with her fingers.

Day and night you’ve been an incredible steward of God’s gifts, and you serve our family and others tirelessly.

20 She opens her arms to the poor
and extends her hands to the needy.

Even for your birthday, your heart is to raise awareness and care for others as you hosted a Party with a Purpose. But your concern for others is seen every day in how you visit with them, create gifts, make meals, and so much more.

21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
22 She makes coverings for her bed;
she is clothed in fine linen and purple.

You are beautiful and classy, and you are a wonderful model for our three little girls. You have made our house a home.

23 Her husband is respected at the city gate,
where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.

Thank you for your respect, support and admiration! I love living and serving together.

24 She makes linen garments and sells them,
and supplies the merchants with sashes.

I’m amazed at how you relate and show honor to those in our community and seek to give to them and support them.

25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
she can laugh at the days to come.
26 She speaks with wisdom,
and faithful instruction is on her tongue.

Your strength encourages me, and you are a faithful friend.

27 She watches over the affairs of her household
and does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:

Our girls love you so much. They truly enjoy being with you.

29 “Many women do noble things,
but you surpass them all.”

You surpass them all.

30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
31 Honor her for all that her hands have done,
and let her works bring her praise at the city gate. (Proverbs 31:10-31, NIV)

From your relationship with God, you have been filled with love that has penetrated my soul and is investing in our girls.

The more life we share together, the deeper I know the love of my Father.

So, I’m following the instruction of the poet. I seek to praise you at the city gate, and perhaps this blog is such a place.

God loves you.

Our children love you.

I love you.

 

Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

