Keeping On: Writing as a Discipline

Just because I like writing doesn’t mean it’s easy.

There are days when I can’t seem to get a thought out. If I do, it comes out incoherently or in a way I had not intended. It doesn’t even matter if I hold on to it, edit it, or start over. Sometimes it just doesn’t turn out. (You’ve probably seen those in some of the posts you read here. I apologize.)

“Why not just let it go sometimes?” you ask.

Because writing is a discipline.

If I don’t fight through the fog, then the good stuff just won’t come. It takes persevering through those hard times to refine and clarify my thoughts. I’ve learned that working through those hard and terrible posts are what have made me a better writer. (Though, that might be subject to personal opinion.)

You can’t just wait for the good stuff to come; you have to keep on in the hard times. (Click to tweet.)

It’s a good principle for life.

Say I wake up and have a rough start with my children. Do I give up as a parent? Do I go on a trip and have my wife call me when the girls are happy? No way! In fact, sometimes those days turn out to be the sweetest. Not only that, it’s the rough days that guide me into having those awesome days as a parent — because I persevered.

What if I have an argument with my wife? Do I stop being married? Absolutely not! Those experiences are opportunities for greater intimacy and deeper love. It’s not going to be easy, but we work through it together. We remain true to our vows and stay focused on being one.

Faithfulness is essential.

  • I must remain faithful as a father.
  • I must remain faithful as a husband.
  • I must remain faithful in my ministry.
  • I must remain faithful to my faithful God.

What does this have to do with writing?

Seeing writing as a discipline is an opportunity to practice perseverance and faithfulness in the little things.

You know what Jesus said–

“One who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much, and one who is dishonest in a very little is also dishonest in much” (Luke 16:10, ESV).

My writing is not as important as my relationships. But practicing discipline and faithfulness in writing serves as mini-workout in building my mental, emotional and spiritual muscles to withstand the tough times that are sure to come.

So I will do my best to produce worthwhile posts. But, I’ll miss the mark sometimes. I’ll even face criticism from time to time. But I’ll continue to write, even in the hard times. 

At the end of the fiery trial, who knows? You might find a little bit of gold.

——–

Have any words of encouragement for those going through those rough moments? Feel free to use the comment area to share.

Comments
One Response to “Keeping On: Writing as a Discipline”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] writing sometimes falls flat because the idea hadn’t fully formed yet. But with the continued discipline of writing, I’ve been able to see some positive […]



Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

