How People Know God Is Good

God is a good God.

It’s a bigger statement in reality than at first reading. If we believe it, it’s a declaration of hope. In spite of anything we face in this world, we can rest in knowing that He truly is good.

But how do we know?

After all, it’s a difficult thing for people to process. I’ve often had people ask, “If God is so good, then why…” followed by a terrible situation they experienced in their life. I’ve also heard many Christians respond well to these questions with an intellectual and philosophical understanding of life, sin, and God’s plan for redemption. But, I’m not thinking quite to intellectually right now. (Some may doubt my ever doing so.)

How do people know God is good relationally?

Well, I know because God first loved me. He has and continues to pursue me. I can see it in my relationships with my family. I can interact with His goodness as I relate to His Word. I can experience a glimpse of it in community with other believers. It’s a living, breathing relational truth. God is good.

As a follower of Jesus, my desire is to live a life reflecting His heart. I’ve received so much from God’s goodness, and I want to share that goodness with all those around me. Yet, I can want to do something but never actually act on it. It’s nice to want to show goodness, but that just isn’t enough.

Thankfully, Jesus has left us an example of how He proclaimed the good news or “goodness” of God to the world.

“The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
because he has anointed me
to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
and recovery of sight for the blind,
to set the oppressed free,
19     to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.” (Luke 4;18-19)

Jesus fulfilled the prophecy of Isaiah long ago. And this is a wonderful topic upon which to expound for intellectual understanding. Yet, I’m fascinated by the relational implications.

The Spirit anointed the Son to proclaim the goodness of the Father to the poor, to set prisoners free, to give sight to the blind, to set oppressed peoples free, and to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.

It wasn’t just something Jesus said. It was a life He lived.

Now, as a faithful follower of Jesus, I’ve received the gift of the Holy Spirit living in me. Through Him, I’m guided, convicted and empowered to live a life that reflects the heart of my Savior. If this is the case, then I have to ask myself some tough questions.

  • Am I proclaiming the goodness of the Father to the poor?
  • Am I advocating freedom for prisoners?
  • Am I seeking care and recovery for the blind?
  • Am I moved to action in setting oppressed free?

But asking those questions is just the starting point.

Take proclaiming the good news of our good God to the poor. How did Jesus do that? He spent time with them. He sought to meet their physical needs. He spoke to their spiritual needs. In other words, Jesus had a relationship with the poor.

Do I?

I’m thinking that the poor among us aren’t looking for an intellectually persuasive argument for the deity and humanity of Jesus. They’re looking for someone to reveal Jesus to them through a relationship that reveals God’s heart. The intellectual part is still important, but it should be embodied in a living person who is desires to faithfully reveal the Father’s goodness.

In our Commissioning group, we’re praying about ways to meet people’s needs. But, we also need to be careful that our ideas for “helping” don’t become nice theories. We’re going to need to step out of our comfort zones. We’ll need to walk a mile in another’s shoes. We’ll need to relate. In doing so, we’ll also be able to proclaim the goodness of God in a real and living way.

As I’m praying through this, it’s drawn me back to reflecting on God’s goodness to me. This is my testimony – my proclamation. It is what I should proclaim in both word AND action in my relationships. It should also move my heart into relationship with those who were a focus of Jesus’ mission. The Spirit lives in me to proclaim the good news to the poor, to set prisoners free, to care for the sick,  and seek justice for the oppressed.

How will they hear unless I proclaim?

How will they know that God is truly a good God?

God has chosen you and me – those who have received the Good News of Jesus Christ. He’s called us to be followers of Jesus not just in name but in living reality.

People will know that God is good when I show them His goodness. (Tweet this)

————

What are some ways you are showing the goodness of God to those around you? Please take a moment to share and encourage others by commenting below!

 

 

 

Comments
3 Responses to “How People Know God Is Good”
  1. Sharman says:

    At my workplace whenever one of my co-workers has an extended illness or death in the family I initiate a collection from the staff and take food from and a card signed by the staff so that person will know that we care about them and are praying for them and above all that God is with them. I have also learned to listen for that “still small voice of God” and when He puts someone on my heart I call, text,e-mail or send a card of encouragement. A couple of summers ago when I was helping at a summer day camp one of our “projects”a man reading the gas meter thanked us for being”His hands and His feet” and since then I continue to realize that we are and what an awesome responsibility it is!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] How People Know God Is Good […]



Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

