Do They Smile When They See You Coming?

Psalm 119:74

May those who fear you rejoice when they see me,

For I have put my hope in your word.

If you knew me at all, you would never describe me as “the life of the party.” In fact, you would be surprised to find me at a party at all. I took a personality test while I was working with a professor friend in Columbia, SC. We were both involved in youth ministry, but we were two very different people. He maxed out on being an “extrovert;” I maxed out on the “introvert” scale. My friend, shocked, said, “Thanks for coming out today!” Yet, whether it’s my personality or not, I should be someone that brings a smile to other people’s faces.

You see, it’s not about being voted “most likely to succeed” or even “class clown.” Those labels may inspire or bring a laugh, but they shouldn’t define you. We can get stuck in those boxes – sealed in by all the labels others give to us. I don’t think it’s even about bringing a smile to someone’s face, although that may happen. I’m thinking here about bringing joy to someone’s heart, bringing a smile to their soul.

I have been labeled by others all my life – just like anyone else reading this post. I’ve often lived up to the labels whether it fit who I thought I was or not. But as I’ve awakened to my identity in Christ, I’ve been able to break free from the labels and live according to who I really am – a beloved child of God. The more I take joy in that relationship, the more joy breaks through the labels into other people’s lives.

Does my presence bring a sense of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control?

What brings a smile to someone’s soul is being with another who puts their hope in God’s Word. It’s being with one who embodies the character of Christ. It’s rubbing shoulders with someone who just exudes the fruit of the Spirit. Everyone – whether they believe it or not – wants to be with Jesus. In Him they find acceptance, forgiveness, and rest. In Him they find love, joy and peace. If they find it in Jesus, then they should find it in me.

Some days are better than others, but I’m a work in progress. I’m still growing in likeness to Him. As I humble myself and lean on His Word, you’ll get a better glimpse of Jesus in me – at least that’s my desire.

Regardless of your personality or history, you can begin today to bring joy to another heart and soul. It begins with being in a loving relationship with Jesus. It continues with a growing love for His Word. It results in others smiling when they see you coming.

Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

