Would You Marry Me All Over Again?

It’s an ongoing, lighthearted conversation with a very serious point. Sometimes I start it when I’m feeling like a terrible failure. Cara may start it when she feels discouraged.  At times, we start it just because we need to hear it again.

“If you could start over today, would you marry me all over again?”

I’m not wearing a tux when I’m asking, and she’s not wearing her incredible white dress. It’s just us – 11 years, 3 children, and countless  experiences later. We’re not as young as we were. I have hair growing in the wrong places now. It’s just the raw, real, everyday us.

“Would you marry me all over again?”

Never once has the answer been any different. It doesn’t matter what we’re wearing or what we’ve done. I know what Cara will say when I ask, and I trust she’s confident of my response as well.

“If I could start over today, I would still choose you.”

As I’ve been reading through the prophets, I’ve seen God’s relentless pursuit of His people. I’ve also seen His people’s uncanny tendency to turn away from Him. When they failed and had nowhere else to turn, God’s hands of love were still there. It’s as if they asked the question.

“Would you marry us all over again, God?

It’s an appropriate metaphor. Hosea’s life was a living illustration of the marriage between God and His people. Hosea married a prostitute knowing full well she would cheat on him. Yet God called Hosea to take her back and love her more than ever. It’s a beautiful picture of God, and the sad reality of His people – and by “His people,” I mean us.

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to have God ask the question? It would only make sense. For all the crazy things we pursue and lift up above our relationship with Him, it would only make sense that the question were given to us.

“Andrew. It’s God. If you could start over today, would you marry me all over again?”

This isn’t a question of my eternal salvation. It’s a question about the current state of my soul. I loved God for pursuing me and “married” Him early on. But now it’s not so new. It’s just me and God – 28 years, 1 wife, 3 children, and countless experiences later. It’s just the raw, real, everyday us.

“Andrew, would you marry me all over again?”

It’s easy to see the gospel of Jesus Christ as the door to another life. It’s another thing altogether to see the gospel as something that influences all of life. My commitment to Christ isn’t a one-time thing; it’s ongoing.

Every day I need to die to sin and choose to live in the Spirit. Every day I need to know that God is still pursuing me, loving me. Every day I need to renew my vows to Him. Just because I chose Him yesterday doesn’t mean my actions are revealing that same choice today.

Today, I need to make a choice.

“God. It’s Andrew. If I could start over today, I would still choose You. You are my heart, my life and my soul. You have always been faithful to me, even when I’ve been faithless. Some days my actions reveal my choice to follow You, but many times I fail. Today, I reaffirm my choice to have and to hold You from this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, until life everlasting.“

What would you say if God asked you the question?

“If you could start over today, would you marry me all over again?”

Feel free to share your response below for you and others.

Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

