A View from the Other Side – Day 2

My kitchen adventure continued on Day 2, though much different than it began. The following are some thoughts from my view from the other side.

Food

Admittedly, this was an easy day. I started off with learning how to make awesome scrambled eggs. My sous chef was absolutely essential here! “Scrambled eggs!” you say. Yes. I told you I was less than a rookie yesterday. The eggs, toast and jam went over very well, and we had some time to sit back and “play” with our Christmas “toys.” The girls played so well together in the morning that a wise parent knows not to mess. Cara worked on some projects in the basement, and I put together her dress form (a Christmas gift) that I know will be the beginning of many, many beautiful creations.

We had Boxing Day a day late as we ate through some Christmas leftovers for lunch. When your wife makes an amazing ham, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, chutney, corn, and more, do NOT (I repeat) do NOT let it go to waste! It may seem like a cop out to you, but mama didn’t raise no fool. We had a delicious lunch!

For dinner, I heated up some frozen margherita pizzas and set out some red peppers, carrots, chips and ranch dip. An easy favorite, or so I thought. The girls didn’t seem so interested in eating. Even though I didn’t really “work” to prepare the meal, it was still disappointing that they weren’t devouring every little bite with thankful hearts. Yet, this helped provide some further reflections for me to keep in mind.

Reflections

I’ve visited homes of people who really have no sense of gratitude for a meal – whether it’s their favorite or not. I know some who refuse to eat leftovers. Not only does this seem to be a colossal waste (my personal opinion), but it would further suggest that the food isn’t worth eating. I understand that sometimes it’s difficult to re-heat some foods, but my wife is a master. I can’t believe how she can use an oven, baking stones, and what-not to make something day-old into something that seems to be as fresh as when it first hit the table. It takes time to learn, but I believe it would be a worthwhile and gracious pursuit.

At times, children tend to be picky. It doesn’t matter if it’s something they’ve eaten and enjoyed hundreds of times before. Sadly, it can also be said of adults. Instead of showing gratitude, the complaining or “picking at the food” starts. I’m not going to tell you about the starving people in other countries (though you might pose a valid argument that I just did), but I will say that we are blessed beyond measure to have food on our tables at all. We all need to learn to develop an attitude of gratitude regardless of whether we are eating ice cream or Brussels sprouts.

The hardest part of my day was the fact that it was an easier kitchen day and more “low key.” With the going, going, going of the holiday season, you’d think we’d welcome a down day. In fact we do, but we often don’t know what to do with it. It’s hard to stop breakneck racing speeds and just be content to “be.” Too often, I assume that my coming home to give Cara a “break” will be enough. Doing the clean-up after meals doesn’t offer the easy solution to a fast-paced busyness of work at home. You can’t just stop and enjoy. It takes time to wind down. It takes time to stop the mind from racing on to the next point of business. A sabbath mind and sabbath heart requires time to prepare as well as enjoy. And by the way, sabbath is not an option; it’s a necessity.

Tomorrow is another day, and I’ll see what God has in store for me there. I appreciate your prayers, as a reader, as I make every effort to not only reflect but be changed by what God teaches me along the way.

Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

