Wisdom Calls

“I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me.” –Proverbs 8:17

Too many of us think that wisdom is akin to person who is playing “hard to get.” We say we want to be wise, but wisdom just seems to be too elusive. In this, we may justify many of our decisions. Yet, Scriptures paint a different picture.

In the Proverbs, it is Wisdom personified that calls out to us. It isn’t in an enticing manner as the seductress of previous chapters. But she doesn’t hide from our gaze. Instead, she wishes to be heard; she longs to be found. So if I were to truly seek wisdom, I would find her.

If that last statement is true, then my lack of wisdom is directly related to my lack of desire. She doesn’t hide; I just don’t seek. James 1:5 agrees with this saying, “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.”

If I truly want to hear wisdom, she is calling. If I truly seek her, I will find her. If I ask, wisdom will be given. Wisdom is waiting, but she is waiting to see if I truly desire a relationship with her.

Leave a Reply

  • Repost/Reprint

    If you would like to repost an entry from my blog on your blog or website, please include a link to the original post. If you would like to reprint an entry, please request reprint permission. Thanks!
  • Contact Info

    Message me on
    Facebook or Twitter

    Email:
    andrew.hedges@yahoo.com
  • Archives

